Editorial Board Members

Editorial boards play an integral part in a journal’s success by supporting the journal with their subject expertise and guidance. As UCL Open: Environment is a new publication, the Editorial Board will grow and develop over time.

Now recruiting!

We are interested in hearing from individuals around the world who are committed to open access, data sharing and innovation in scientific publishing, with subject expertise across environment related research. If you are interested in applying for the position of Editorial Board Member, please see the ongoing call for applications here.


Prof Dan Osborn, Chair of Human Ecology, Earth Sciences Research, UCL, UK

Editorial Board Members

Dr Mustafa Abbas, Research Clinical Fellow on Acute Medicine, Salford Royal Foundation Trust, Manchester, UK
Dr Yasemin Aktas, Lecturer, Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering (CEGE), Faculty of Engineering Science, UCL, UK
Dr Francesco Aletta, Research Associate, Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering, UCL, UK
Dr Chris Brierley, Associate Professor of Climate Science, Department of Geography, UCL, UK
Dr Ben Milligan, Senior Research Fellow, Institute for Sustainable Resources and Centre for Law and Environment, UCL, UK
Dr Craig Styan, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering Science, UCL, UK, and University of South Australia, Australia
Dr Carla-Leanne Washbourne, Lecturer in Environmental Science and Policy, STEaPP, UCL, UK

Advisory Board Members

Prof Nick Tyler, Director of the UCL Centre for Transport Studies and Chadwick Professor of Civil Engineering, UCL, UK
Dr Becca Burns, Strategic Research Facilitator (Environment), UCL, UK

Editorial Board and Membership of reference can be found online at